Nominees List for The Future Awards 2010!!!

The following young nigerians have been shorlisted for The Future Awards 2010:

List of Nominees for Season 5 of the Future Awards includes:

Actor of the Year
Omoni Oboli
Gideon Okeke
Mercy Johnson
Kemi Lala Akindoju
Tonto Dikeh
Ali Nuhu
Mercy Aigbe
Nonso Diobi

Best Use of Advocacy
Tunde David (YGC Africa)
Stephen Oguntoyinbo (Talk Village International)
Onodi Daniel Chinedu (Nigerian Youth Association, Benin Republic)
Ndubude Matthew Ekene (Nigeria Youth Fight Against Malaria)
Emmanuel Odiase (Smokefree Foundation)
Chuks Etuka (Will to Survive)
Isoke Aikpitanyi (Casa de Isoke)
Light Up Nigeria

Best Use of Science
Oteri Ogoghorie (0.1 Seconds Automatic Changeover)
Akintunde Babatunde (Novel tidal-flow constructed wetland system for wastewater treatment)
Ify Aniebo (Research in malaria)
Bade Adesemowo (Power Back Alarm)
Tosin Ogunrinde (Invention in robotics)
Okelola Mayokun (Research in climate change)
Godspower Oboide (Magnetic safety bumpers)
Kamal Olaleye (Power inverter innovation)

Best Use of Technology
Bode Pedro (Veda Technologies)
Ike Orizu (
Olufemi Akande (iWorks)
Temi Kolawole (Antigravity)
Uche Eze (
Saheed Adejuwon (DigiWorks)
GobbleAbba Studios
Jay Aloysius-Chukwuemeka (Bluelabs LLC)

Businesss Owner of the Year
Oghenekaro Agono (Tremor Perfect)
Erefe Fynecountry (Deheney Services)
Debola Lewis (Yvent Couture)
Ayo Arigbagbu (Dada Books)
Hassan Rilwan (Focal Point Publishing)
Henry Oraika (Motomedia)
Uyi Omokaro (DM2)
Sylvester Olusola Adade (Pearl Creations)

Creative Artist of the Year
Olanrewaju Oluwafemi
Onyeka Nwelue
Andrew Esiebo
Jumoke Verissimo
Babadeji Ogunnubi
Adekunle Samuel Owolabi
Yakaa Celestine
Richardson Oviebo

Excellence in Public Service
Dr. Iofarfa Tor-ayin (Federal Medical Centre, Makurdi)
Emmanuel Etim (UNFPA)
Jerry Uchechukwu Eze (UNFPA)
Dr. Idoko Abraham Braimah (General Hospital, Lagos)
Fatima Zara Modibbo (Institute of Human Virology, Nigeria)
Dr. Adedayo Osholowu (Lagos University Teaching University)
Ngozi Iheukwumere (University Teaching Hospital, Ilorin)
Oluwatoyin Jegede (Engineering Department, University of Lagos)

Journalist of the Year
Toyosi Ogunseye (The Punch)
Ruona Agbroko (NEXT)
Rachel Ogbu (Newswatch)
Chinedu Iroche (NEXT)
Segun Adeoye (TELL)
Amina Alhassan (Daily Trust)
Afolabi Adekoya (Citypeople)
Funke Adetutu (BusinessDay)

Magazine of the Year
Soundcity Blast
The Applause

Model of the Year
Aminat Ayinde
Ibukun Jegede
Olubunmi Ademokoya
Tayo Ishola
Warebi Martha
Isi Atagamen
Bisi Sowemimo
Owobowale Ogunlaja

Musician of the Year
Dare Art-Alade
Wande Coal
Banky W
Rooftop MCs

Music Producer of the Year
Jesse Jagz
DJ Clem
K Solo
Tee Y Mix
Dokta Frabz
Terry G

On-Air Personality of the Year (Radio)

Tosyn Bucknor (Top Radio)
Matse Uwatse (Wazobia FM)
Toolz (Beat FM)
Amake and Charles (Hot FM)
Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi (Beat FM)
Gbemileke Oyinsan (Inspiration FM)
Bernie Ark (Cool FM Abuja)
Chuks Roberts (Cosmo FM Enugu)

On-Air Personality of the Year (TV)
Yvonne Ekwere (Silverbird TV)
Cynthia Okpala (MTV Base)
Adaure Achumba (Silverbird TV)
Denrele Edun (Soundcity)
Gloria Ebong (Channels TV)
Veronica Onuchi (HiSoccer)
Deji Falope (Street Dance)
Andre Blaze (Nigezie)

Professional of the Year
Franklin Ozekhome (Insight Communications)
Abdularahman Aliyu (Abuja Investments Company Limited)
Simi Dosekun (Kachifo Limited)
Ifeanyi Ajuluchukwu (Access Bank)
Dipo Okuribido (Banwo & Ighodalo)
Fopefoluwa Adebayo (Goldman Sachs)
Aneto Okonkwo (Management Consultant)
Ifunnaya Maduka (Dean of Students, Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy for Girls)

Screen Producer of the Year
Dragon Fly Productions
Clarence Peters (Capital Productions)
Tola Odunsi (Storm Productions)
Imoh Umoren (Ultima Studios)
Chuka Ejorh (NeverMachine South Africa)
Yinka Obebe (Nigezie)
Gbenga Salu (Renders & Illusion)
Kenneth Gyang (“Finding Aisha”)

Sportsperson of the Year
Osaze Odemwingie (Football)
Vivian Chukwuemeka (Shotput)
Mikel Obi (Football)
Ikechukwu Uche (Football)
Fatima Abinu (Lawn Tennis)
Obafemi Martins (Football)
Janet Dung (Athletics)
Aruna Quadri (Table Tennis)

Style Entrepreneur of the Year
Muyiwa Osindero (Clothesense)
Uche Nnaji (Ouch!)
Tobi Vincent (Alvince)
Linda Ikeji (Blackdove Communications)
Ugonna Umeruo (House of Nwaocha)
Adetola Olateju (Xquizit)
Biobelemoye Omoniyegha (Labelle’s Touch)
Funke Ogunde (Phunk Afrique)

Team of the Year
Africa Youth for Change
Knighthouse Productions
Light Up Nigeria
Yellow Dog Productions
Salsa Federation in Nigeria
The Umusu Wives
Gbagyichild Entertainment
Glitz Youths

Young Person of the Year
Ik Osakioduwa (On Air Personality)
Toyosi Akerele (Youth Advocate)
Tolu Ogunlesi (Journalist)
Asa (Bukola Elemide) (Singer/Performer)
Ify Aniebo (Scientist)
Qudus Onikeku (Dance professional)
Stephanie Okereke (Actor/Movie Producer)
Cobhams Asuquo (Music Producer)

The judging process

·      After all the nominations have been collated, the Central Working Committee selects 8 nominees per category – The list above.

·      The names of the 8 nominees are published and publicized for two weeks – so anyone with complaints about any of the nominees can contact the organizers :

·      The list goes to the Board of Judges made up of 30 young journalists from major media houses from around the country.

·      At the same time the public voting starts. In all, decisions of the board of judges constitutes 50% and public voting constitutes the other 50% – this determines who will be on the short list of 5 people per category.

·      The short list is then sent to The Independent Audit Committee made up of 30 distinguished Nigerians, headed by Chairman of The Guardian Editorial Board, Dr. Reuben Abati, who determines who the 3 finalists will be.

·      The 3 finalists are then sent back to the board of judges who make the final decision.

Let the voting begin @

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: